SEC Media Days is coming up next week, July 16-19, and the Arkansas Razorbacks have yet to announce which three players will be attending the event alongside head coach Chad Morris, who is obligated to attend.

Former Arkansas head coach Bret Bielema always brought seniors to the event no matter what, and last year the invitees were quarterback Austin Allen, center Frank Ragnow and defensive back Kevin Richardson. Richardson was granted a sixth year of eligibility thanks to an amendment to the sixth year rule this year, but it is unlikely he will return for a second trip.

Senior free safety Santos Ramirez, 6-2, 195, is a good bet to make the flight to Atlanta. He is a senior and was voted a team captain in 2017 as a junior. Ramirez is noted as being a good quote for the media, and he should have a shot at All-SEC recognition after the season. Ramirez started all 12 games last season and recorded 63 tackles, three forced fumbles and eight pass breakups a year ago. He also had an interception against TCU. He has five career forced fumbles.

Another good bet is senior left guard Hjalte Froholdt, 6-5, 315, who is widely regarded as a team leader and is another strong candidate to earn captain honors this season. Froholdt’s name is also appearing on several mock drafts in the early rounds, which also improves his appeal as an offensive lineman. The fact that he is from Svendborg, Denmark should make him even more intriguing for media members. Froholdt did not allow a single sack last season during 389 passing plays a year ago. He also earned All-SEC first team recognition from Pro Football Focus.

Another solid bet is senior linebacker Dre Greenlaw, 6-0, 226, who is coming off a 100-tackle season in 2018 and has been a starter since soon after arriving on campus. Greenlaw is another potential candidate as a team captain heading into this season. But if Arkansas doesn't want to bring another defensive player due to only bringing a lineman on offense, the best candidate may be senior wide receiver Jared Cornelius, 5-11, 207. Other candidates could be senior tight end Jeremy Patton and senior receiver Jonathan Nance. Greenlaw made several preseason All-SEC lists last year but did not show up on any postseason lists.

This year, SEC Media Days has been moved to Atlanta and will take place at the North Tower of the Omni Hotel and adjacent College Football Hall of Fame. The past 17 years, it was held in Hoover (Ala.) at the Wynfrey Hotel. This is the first time since 1985 that SEC Media Days has not been held near Birmingham. SEC Media Days will return to Hoover in 2019, which is expected to host more down the road with other sites in the SEC region expected to host the event at other times.


Santos Ramirez

Hjalate Froholdt

Dre Greenlaw

SEC Media Days (CDT)

Monday, July 16

10:30 a.m. - 11 a.m.
SEC commissioner Greg Sankey

11:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.
Texas A&M coach Jimbo Fisher

12:15 p.m. - 12:35 p.m.
Texas A&M players (TBA)

1 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Kentucky coach Mark Stoops

2:35 p.m. - 2:55 p.m.
Kentucky players (TBA)

3 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
LSU coach Ed Orgeron and players

4:35 p.m. - 4:55 p.m. 
LSU players (TBA)

Tuesday, July 17

7:30 a.m. - 7:50 a.m.
Steve Shaw, SEC Coordinator of Officials

7:30 a.m. - 7:50 a.m.
Steve Shaw, SEC Coordinator of Officials

8 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
Georgia coach Kirby Smart

10 a.m. - 10:20 a.m.
Georgia players (TBA)

10:20 a.m. - 10:50 a.m.
Ole Miss coach Matt Luke

11:10 - 11:30 a.m.
Ole Miss players (TBA)

12:30 p.m. - 1 p.m.
Arkansas coach Chad Morris

1:50 p.m. - 2:20 p.m.
Florida coach Dan Mullen

2:30 p.m. - 2:50 p.m.
Arkansas players (TBA)

3:40 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Florida players (TBA)

Wednesday, July 18

7:30 a.m. - 7:40 a.m.
David Fletcher, Football Bowl Association

7:40 a.m. - 7:55 a.m.
Bill Hancock, executive director of College Football Playoff

8 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
Mississippi State coach Joe Moorhead

9:20 a.m. - 9:50 a.m.
Tennessee coach Jeremy Pruitt

10 a.m. - 10:20 a.m.
Mississippi State players (TBA)

11:10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Tennessee players (TBA)

12:30 p.m. - 1 p.m.
Alabama coach Nick Saban

1:50 p.m. - 2:20 p.m.
Missouri coach Barry Odom

2:30 p.m. - 2:50 p.m.
Alabama players (TBA)

3:40 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Missouri players (TBA)

Thursday, July 19

7:30 a.m. - 7:40 a.m.
Football Writers Association of America

7:40 a.m. - 7:55 a.m.
National Football Foundation

8 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
Auburn coach Gus Malzahn

8:45 a.m. - 9:15 a.m.
Vanderbilt coach Derek Mason

9:35 p.m. - 9:55 p.m.
Auburn players (TBA)

10:10 a.m. - 10:40 a.m.
South Carolina coach Will Muschamp

11 a.m. - 11:20 a.m.

Vanderbilt players

12:15 p.m. - 12:35 p.m.
South Carolina players (TBA)