Sixty-six University of Tennessee student-athletes were named to the 2017-18 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll, according to a Wednesday release from the conference office.

Six Tennessee football newcomers (freshman defensive lineman Matthew Butler, freshman kicker Brent Cimaglia, freshman defensive lineman Eric Crosby, freshman defesive back Cheyenne Labruzza, freshman offensive lineman Riley Locklear and freshman linebacker Solon Page III) and two men’s basketball newcomers (freshman wing Yves Pons and graduate-transfer point guard James Daniel III) made the list, but the rowing team led the way with 11 athletes on the list.

Here’s a full release, courtesy of the Tennessee sports information department.


The University of Tennessee placed 66 student-athletes on the 2017-18 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll, which was announced Wednesday by SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey.

The rowing program led the way for Tennessee with 11 student-athletes honored. Women's swimming and diving (8), soccer (7), football (6) and baseball (5) all put five or more on the list.

A total of 956 student-athletes were named to the 2017-18 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll, which is based on grades from the 2017-18 academic calendar.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution's NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll.

The following criteria will be followed:

(1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution.

(2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll.

(3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons.

(4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution.

(5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport's entire NCAA Championship segment.


Baseball: Josh Plummer – Supply Chain Management; Evan Russell – Finance; Wyatt Stapp – University Exploratory; Chase Wallace – Kinesiology; Nicholas Woods – Supply Chain Management.

Men's Basketball: James Daniel III – Master of Science in Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication; Yves Pons – Recreation and Sport Management.

Football: Matthew Butler – Political Science; Brent Cimaglia – University Exploratory; Eric Crosby – University Exploratory; Cheyenne Labruzza – Economics; Riley Locklear – Kinesiology; Solon Page III – Marketing.

Men’s Golf: Spencer Cross – Finance; Chase Roswall – Finance. 

Vols sophomore wing Yves Pons (Photo: Brianna Paciorka, Knoxville News Sentinel)

Women's Golf: Mariah Smith – Kinesiology; Waverly Whiston – Management.

Rowing: Abbi Altman – Supply Chain Management; Jaimie Armitage – Computer Science
Ashley Ball – Management; Abigail Craine – Accounting, Information Management Collateral; Gia Hodges – Neuroscience; Eleanor Loving – Psychology; Andrea Mann – Pre-Veterinary Medicine; Lindsey Morrissett – Kinesiology; Alexandra Natale – Biomedical Engineering
Ashley Van Roon – Kinesiology; Sarah Warner – Food Science.

Soccer: Wrenne French – University Exploratory; Salera Jordan – Conservation; Kelsey Kiley – Interdisciplinary Programs; Alexus Knox – Biological Sciences; Burkett McKinley – Sport Management; Ashley Orkus – Finance; Khadija Shaw – Communication Studies.

Softball: Amanda Ayala – Kinesiology; Brooke Langston – Kinesiology; Ashley Morgan – Accounting; Gabrielle Sprang – Journalism and Electronic Media.

Men’s Swimming & Diving: Ben Blevins-Boor – Biological Sciences; Owen Devine – Kinesiology; Parker Kaye – Business; Colin Zeng – Psychology.

Women’s Swimming & Diving: Mary Banick – Chemistry; Bailey Grinter – Exploratory; Constanze Moseley – Psychology; Amanda Nunan – Exploratory; Tjasa Pintar – Kinesiology; Lillian Schneider – Business; Megan Sichterman – Food Science; Emily Sykes – Therapeutic Recreation.

Men's Tennis: Andrew Rogers – English; Adam Walton – Kinesiology.

Women’s Tennis: Tenika McGiffin – Kinesiology; Chelsea Sawyer – Kinesiology

Men's Track & Field: Scott Cousino – Sport Management; George Goodwyn – Economics; Conner Hawkins – Interdisciplinary Programs-Neuroscience; Jordan West – Sport Management.

Women's Track & Field: Hannah Jefcoat – Undeclared; Taylor Luthringer – Undeclared; Sarah Reeves – Undeclared; Niamh Schumacher – Food Science.

Volleyball: Gabrielle Peitsch – Accounting; Stephanie Spencer – Recreation and Sport Management; Callie Williams – Recreation and Sport Management.