Honolulu, HI (August 9, 2018) – The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today the 2018 Watch List for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity. The Watch List is composed of 50 players from 34 different FBS schools. Among the players on the list is current Washington junior outside linebacker Benning Potoa'e.

The 6-foot-3, 277-pound junior played in all 13 games last year, starting 10. He finished with 27 tackles, including five tackles for loss and three sacks. 

OLB Benning Potoa'e (Photo: M. Samek, 247Sports)

Former University of Oregon, and current Tennessee Titans Quarterback, Marcus Mariota was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2014; former University of Notre Dame, and current Baltimore Ravens Offensive Lineman, Ronnie Stanley received the award in 2015; former University of Colorado Quarterback Sefo Liufau received the award in 2016; and former Washington State University, and current Minnesota Vikings Defensive End Hercules Mata`afa received the award last year.

“The Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award has become one of the most prestigious awards in college football,” said Jesse Sapolu, Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman, Co-Founder and Inductee. “This Award allows us to showcase the tremendous impact of our Polynesian student-athletes.”

The winner of the 2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on December 14, 2018. Five finalists will be unveiled on December 5. The presentation of the Award will be held during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Celebration Dinner (Sheraton Waikiki) and they will also be recognized at halftime of the Polynesian Bowl at Aloha Stadium.

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2018-2019 season progresses. The finalists and winner will be chosen by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which includes Coaches Dick Tomey (Chairman), Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Olin Kreutz, past NFLPA President and Inaugural Inductee Kevin Mawae, former NFL Player and Class of 2015 Inductee Ray Schoenke, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, NFL Network writer and commentator Steve Wyche, and Honolulu Sportscaster Robert Kekaula.

Below is the full list of Pac-12 players on the 2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year watch list

Junior WR Kanawai Noa

Sophomore DL Austin Faoliu

Oregon State
Junior OL Gus Lavaka
Junior TE Noah Togiai
Senior DL Kalani Vakameilalo

Senior OL Brandon Fanaika

Junior OL Boss Tagaloa

Junior LB Jordan Iosefa
Senior OL Toa Lobendahn
Sophomore RB Vavae Malepeai
Sophomore DL Brandon Pili

Junior DL Bradlee Anae
Senior OL Lo Falemaka
Junior DL Leki Fotu

Junior DL Benning Potoa'e

Washington State
Junior OL Frederick Mauigoa