Seriously, why doesn't Clarkson start?

Seriously, why doesn't Clarkson start?

• First, I am not that smart, so I am coming at you all humbly with this question. I love the NBA and the Cavs, but I have a lot of gaps in my knowledge of why rotations are set up the way they are, so I am not being snarky ... I honestly want to be informed so that I am not ignorant. When I watch him, he seems like a solid starter to me. A legit 2-guard who can defend and make plays. Why has he always been relegated to being a sixth-man? Would this team be in games if he got minutes and Garland had to earn his by playing as a reserve? Please advise.

• Discussion
  • For the record, I understand why Brandon Knight is not getting minutes, as we obtained him to get picks and he is on an expiring contract. He is also better than both Sexton and Garland to my eyes, but again I know they are the future and he is on his way out. I just don't see how going 12-60 or similar is good for anybody.

• ANGDawg said... (original post) First, I am not that smart, so I am coming at you all humbly with this question. I love the NBA and the Cavs, but I have a lot of gaps in my knowle...

You're a lot smarter than you think. This is from Chris Fedor's column this morning:

"Over the last 14 games, the Cavs have stalled quickly, tied with the struggling Atlanta Hawks as the league’s worst first quarter team, being outscored by an average of 6.5 points. Their first quarter offensive rating during this brutal stretch is a ghastly 92.6. The defensive rating is 117.6. The lineup isn’t working and it’s forced the Cavs to fight uphill the rest of the way -- a tedious task.

It hasn’t just been the last few weeks either. They rank 28th in first quarter net rating on the season, being outscored by 13.3 points per 100 possessions. That marks leads just two teams: the Hawks and Warriors.

The Cavs need energy early. They need more length in the starting lineup. Need more juice.